Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsGeneral TopicsCat AnecdotesHealth and BehaviorRescue
CatKB.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Cat Forum / General Topics / February 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

help stop an extortionist

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Tommasisx - 25 Feb 2005 22:26 GMT
I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com While Toby
is a rabbit, we need to stop this idiot before his success encourages others
to try the same thing.
I've sent a message to both his domain name proxy service (people hiding who
he is)  http://www.domainsbyproxy.com  abuse@domainsbyproxy.com and the
company that registered his domain name and is probably hosting his site
https://www.godaddy.com  abuse@godaddy.com   These are links to their web
pages and links so you can send them an e-mail to complain about this site.
The person that showed me this site has also contacted CNN to see if they
would do a story on it to get more people to complain about this crook and
get his site shut down.
He is also using paypal to receive his blood money and I will be contacting
them shortly to hopefully have them cut off his source of income from this
site.
Thank you
Terry Lamrouex
philo - 26 Feb 2005 00:14 GMT
> I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com While Toby
> is a rabbit, we need to stop this idiot before his success encourages others
[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
> Thank you
> Terry Lamrouex

it looks like a joke...
but a very bad one  :(
equalizer - 26 Feb 2005 11:36 GMT
>> I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com While
>Toby
[quoted text clipped - 20 lines]
>it looks like a joke...
>but a very bad one  :(

just forward the website URL to www.fraud.org
DW - 26 Feb 2005 16:06 GMT
> I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com While Toby
> is a rabbit, we need to stop this idiot before his success encourages others
> to try the same thing.
I'm not sure if this is a hoax/joke/etc.  One thing I do know the site
is backed by some serious money.   Look in the store, someone forked
over
big bucks to get that stuff made.

Is it a ploy to get stuff sold at their store?  Who knows.   BTW, just
because
a figure is given about how much was "raised" doesn't necessarily mean
it was
actually raised.   When you create a web page you can stick in any
figure.
Mike Z. Helm - 26 Feb 2005 18:13 GMT
On 26 Feb 2005 08:06:27 -0800, "DW" <DrWoodardOnDS@hotmail.com>

>> I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com
>While Toby
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
>
>Is it a ploy to get stuff sold at their store?

Duh

>  Who knows.   BTW, just
>because
>a figure is given about how much was "raised" doesn't necessarily mean
>it was
>actually raised.   When you create a web page you can stick in any
>figure.
Tommasisx - 26 Feb 2005 17:06 GMT
A joke has a punch line. This guy is trying to make money by threatening to
do something people would find objectionable unless he's paid not to do it
(extortion). His links for payment are functional. I would say this is a
pretty sick joke except that the potential for making money from a threat
crosses the line between bad taste and criminal activities.
Terry
Mike Z. Helm - 26 Feb 2005 18:14 GMT
On Fri, 25 Feb 2005 17:29:42 -0500, "Tommasisx" <tommasisx@netzero.net>

>I was shown a web site that should be shut down. www.savetoby.com While Toby
>is a rabbit, we need to stop this idiot before his success encourages others
[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
>them shortly to hopefully have them cut off his source of income from this
>site.

Yeah - nothing like a little free publicity to shut down a commercial
site, yeah?

This looks like a thinly disguised spam to me.

So, f.ck off spammer!

>Thank you
>Terry Lamrouex
DW - 26 Feb 2005 19:20 GMT
Found more information:
http://urbanlegends.about.com/b/a/146890.htm
Tommasisx - 26 Feb 2005 19:47 GMT
Thank you for the additional information. I've been posting my complaint to
the legal news groups to see what the lawyers think about this guys "joke".
If he wasn't trying to make money from it I would just consider it a sick
joke like bonsai cats. But this guy trying to profit makes it all the
sicker.
Terry
> Found more information:
> http://urbanlegends.about.com/b/a/146890.htm
Mike Z. Helm - 28 Feb 2005 03:12 GMT
On Sat, 26 Feb 2005 14:47:20 -0500, "Tommasisx" <tommasisx@netzero.net>

>Thank you for the additional information. I've been posting my complaint to
>the legal news groups to see what the lawyers think about this guys "joke".
>If he wasn't trying to make money from it I would just consider it a sick
>joke like bonsai cats. But this guy trying to profit makes it all the
>sicker.

It's definitely in bad taste and could arguably be termed "sick", but
it's perfectly legal.

>Terry
>> Found more information:
>> http://urbanlegends.about.com/b/a/146890.htm

Rate this thread:






 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.