Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsGeneral TopicsCat AnecdotesHealth and BehaviorRescue
CatKB.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Cat Forum / Health and Behavior / January 2004

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Another twisty cat breeder?

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Twisty Whiskers - 04 Jan 2004 12:58 GMT
This website claims to be breeding real cabbits, but seems to be breeding
for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the genetic
impossibility of cross-breeding cats and rabbits, it sounds like another
twisty cat breeder only the back legs are affected instead of the fronts.
The site claims the hybrid offspring "Walks as if it were drunk.  It
stumbles and/or wobbles" - spinal/neurological defects?  Either it's a sick
bonsai kitten type thing or someone is breeding some very sad cats :(
Diane L. Schirf - 04 Jan 2004 15:16 GMT
> This website claims to be breeding real cabbits, but seems to be breeding
> for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the genetic
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> stumbles and/or wobbles" - spinal/neurological defects?  Either it's a sick
> bonsai kitten type thing or someone is breeding some very sad cats :(

Given the free hosting and the ads everywhere, I suspect the whole thing
is a gimmick to drive traffic to the site to make money. Blech.

Signature

http://www.mindspring.com/~slywy/
http://slywy.diaryland.com/

Diane L. Schirf - 04 Jan 2004 15:19 GMT
> This website claims to be breeding real cabbits, but seems to be breeding
> for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the genetic
> impossibility of cross-breeding cats and rabbits, it sounds like another
> twisty cat breeder only the back legs are affected instead of the fronts.

P.S. In the photos (which are distorted; someone doesn't know how to
resize proportionately), the so-called "cabbit" looks just like a cat.
Like I said, a gimmick to drive traffic to the site to make a quick buck.

Signature

http://www.mindspring.com/~slywy/
http://slywy.diaryland.com/

Kalyahna - 04 Jan 2004 18:52 GMT
> This website claims to be breeding real cabbits, but seems to be breeding
> for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the genetic
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> stumbles and/or wobbles" - spinal/neurological defects?  Either it's a sick
> bonsai kitten type thing or someone is breeding some very sad cats :(

If it seems like a cruelty issue and the proper authorities are informed,
they're under obligation to look into it. That's how the bonsai kittens
thing was proved to be a hoax.
Diane L. Schirf - 04 Jan 2004 22:44 GMT
> That's how the bonsai kittens
> thing was proved to be a hoax.

You mean someone took THAT seriously? It screamed hoax. And not even a
well-executed one!

Signature

http://www.mindspring.com/~slywy/
http://slywy.diaryland.com/

Dennis Carr - 06 Jan 2004 07:33 GMT
> You mean someone took THAT seriously? It screamed hoax. And not even a
> well-executed one!

You can fool some of the people....

Signature

Dennis Carr - ke6isf@spamcop.net    | I may be out of my mind,
http://www.dennis.furtopia.org      | But I have more fun that way.
------------------------------------+-------------------------------

GL1103 - 06 Jan 2004 22:49 GMT
That is just wrong on so many levels....sad that there are people out there
like that....
It is too upsetting to even go to the website/
> This website claims to be breeding real cabbits, but seems to be breeding
> for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the genetic
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> stumbles and/or wobbles" - spinal/neurological defects?  Either it's a sick
> bonsai kitten type thing or someone is breeding some very sad cats :(
Janet Stout - 08 Jan 2004 07:46 GMT
That Bosnia kitty site I saw was pretty good but I just couldn't believe it.
It seemed impossible but they really did a good job with those fake photos.
That is why people really bought it. Those damn pictures. But I knew it just
couldn't be. I laughed my a.s off because people were sending it to me
really believing it with information to contact authorities. I immediately
checked it out on a website to see if it could possibly be true, and I found
out. What gets me is people accept impossible claims as fact without any
evidence. It just makes me loose it everytime.

"> > for deformity.  http://www.cabbits.8m.com/  Never mind the
Karen - 08 Jan 2004 10:10 GMT
> That Bosnia kitty site I saw was pretty good but I just couldn't believe it.
> It seemed impossible but they really did a good job with those fake photos.
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
> out. What gets me is people accept impossible claims as fact without any
> evidence. It just makes me loose it everytime.

"Bosnia kitty"??

Karen
Janet Stout - 08 Jan 2004 19:46 GMT
> in article 3V7Lb.64878$fq1.43688@twister.rdc-kc.rr.com, > >
> "Bosnia kitty"??
>
> Karen

Oh I see I mispelled it as Bosnia kitty, sorry my bad. It was called Bonsi
kitty. Forgive me and please ask all the Bosnian kitties to forgive me too.
Karen - 08 Jan 2004 22:02 GMT
> > in article 3V7Lb.64878$fq1.43688@twister.rdc-kc.rr.com, > >
> > "Bosnia kitty"??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Oh I see I mispelled it as Bosnia kitty, sorry my bad. It was called Bonsi
> kitty. Forgive me and please ask all the Bosnian kitties to forgive me too.

I was just wondering if they were refugee kitties ;)

Karen
Raul & Mini - 09 Jan 2004 07:29 GMT
I recently saw a segment on animal planet on the cabbit. and tehy said
that the
possible explanation is for the cat to be born with and extra bone in
its hind legs.
As far as I can tell they did have video of two of these so called Cabbits.
No alteration seems to be done.

>>in article 3V7Lb.64878$fq1.43688@twister.rdc-kc.rr.com, > >
>>"Bosnia kitty"??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Oh I see I mispelled it as Bosnia kitty, sorry my bad. It was called Bonsi
> kitty. Forgive me and please ask all the Bosnian kitties to forgive me too.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.